Blog redesign

by panglott

It’s time for a major blog redesign, since changes in Blogger’s interface long ago irritated me enough to drop off blogging almost entirely (I’ve also been super busy with school). I love writing in plain text/HTML/lightweight markup language, but hate the assumptions that too many WYSIWYG editors make about my writing preferences, and Blogger made both modes annoying. I’ve needed to modify my tools, and if so, I’m going to make the blog run the way I’ve always wanted to.

Static site generators may be so 2012, but editing plain text files (stored in the cloud and published with some scripts) seems to me like a powerfully writer-centric workflow. So this blog is written in Python Markdown, generated by the static site generator Pelican with Python on Mac OS X, and published. We’ll see how that works.

